20 Individuals, Ideas and Inventions that Made Our World, from the Age of Discovery to the Renaissance
with Juliette de Marcellus
Friday, November 8, 2019, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building

Friday, November 15, 2019, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, November 22, 2019, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, December 6, 2019, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, December 13, 2019, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, December 20, 2019, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 3, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 10, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 17, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 24, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 31, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, February 7, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, February 14, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, February 28, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 6, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 13, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 20, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 27, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, April 3, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, April 10, 2020, 11:00AM
Dixon Education Building

SESSION I: November 8, 15, 22; December 6, 13, 20; January 3, 10, 17, 24

SESSION II: January 31; February 7, 14, 28; March 6, 13, 20, 27; April 3, 10

Fridays from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

 

Opening with the 15th Century and the age of exploration, the course explores the lives and social circumstances of twenty individuals whose work and ideas still impact us today.

The course illustrates the impact an individual can have on world history, while also honoring the imagination, genius, and courage of those who formed our culture.

The course includes an overview of fundamental inventions such as the rudder (which allowed world exploration) and the magnifying glass (which launched a new understanding of nature and disease). It will also include an overview of political, social, and cultural leaders, such as Sir Francis Drake, Oliver Cromwell, Rembrandt van Rijn, Johann Sebastian Bach, and important and diverse writers from William Shakespeare to Voltaire.

Juliette de Marcellus is a prize-winning music critic and lecturer. She has translated and edited her father’s two books, Atlas of Man andAtlas of Language. De Marcellus was a music critic for Cox newspapers and for magazines, including Opera News.

TICKETS

Session I Tickets
Session II Tickets

Tickets available:
Members  –  Wednesday, September 18
Public – Wednesday, October 2

Tickets: $175 per 10-class session
Reservations Required

Due to limited space, reservations are required for every program. 

Please note, all sales are final, no refunds or exchanges.

← back to Workshops

 

Navigation Menu
Administration: 561-655-7227 Box Office: 561-655-7226 King Library: 561-655-2766 Children's Library: 561-655-2776 Campus on the Lake Registration: 561-805-8562