History: 20 Ideas That Gave Birth to Europe
with Juliette de Marcellus
Friday, November 2, 2018, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building

Friday, November 16, 2018, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, November 30, 2018, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, December 14, 2018, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, December 28, 2018, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 4, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 11, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 18, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, January 25, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, February 1, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, February 8, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, February 22, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 1, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 8, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 15, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 22, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, March 29, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, April 5, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, April 12, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building
Friday, April 19, 2019, 11:00AM – 12:30PM
Dixon Education Building

JULIETTE DE MARCELLUS

SESSION I
November 2, 16, 30; December 14, 28; January 4, 11, 18, 25; February 1

SESSION II
February 8, 22; March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29; April 5, 12, 19

Fridays from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Following last season’s successful course on great ideas inherited from the ancient world, this series analyzes 20 great ideas and innovations of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

The course will explore the evolution of European culture from the fall of the Roman Empire. It will incorporate descriptions of
great personalities and institutions such as Charlemagne, Eleanor of Aquitaine and the Knights Templar, and important ideas such
as the Magna Carta, the laws of Chivalry, the architecture of the great cathedrals, and the dawn of modern knowledge. The class will also trace the growth of Islam during this period.

Juliette de Marcellus is a prize-winning music critic and lecturer. She has translated and edited her father’s two books, Atlas of Man andAtlas of Language. De Marcellus was a music critic for Cox newspapers and for magazines, including Opera News.

Tickets

Tickets: $175 per 10-class session

Reservations Required

Due to limited space, reservations are required for every program. 

Please note, no refunds for lectures are permitted. Exchanges or transfers for a lecture of equal value within a season are permitted on a case-by-case basis.

← back to Workshops

 

Navigation Menu
Administration: 561-655-7227 Box Office: 561-655-7226 King Library: 561-655-2766 Children's Library: 561-655-2776 Campus on the Lake Registration: 561-805-8562